Discussion Question Reflection

In 1990, after seven years of teaching at Harvard, Eric Mazur, now Balkanski professor of physics and applied physics, was delivering clear, polished lectures and demonstrations and getting high student evaluations for his introductory Physics 11 course, populated mainly by premed and engineering students who were successfully solving complicated problems. Then he discovered that his success as a teacher “was a complete illusion, a house of cards.”

-Harvard Magazine

Video guided notes/reflection:

Peer Instruction Intro

Intro Video:

8 minutes from Professor Mazur’s physics class:

Results:
In a traditional lecture course

  • Only 10% of students could state a fact from the lecture 15 minutes after class
  • Post-test scores were 25% higher than pre-test scores

In a Peer-instruction (what Professor Mazur does) class:

  • 90% of students could state a fact from the lecture 2 days after class
  • Post-test scores were 50-70% higher than pre-test scores.

Source: University of Colorado, Interactive Learning Study (2008).

Reminder:
If you are able, please post your answer to the final reflection question (#11) in the comments section of this post.

This entry was posted in Unit 0: Introduction. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Discussion Question Reflection

  1. Edgar Jimenez says:

    I like peer instruction. It really helps me learn and understand.

  2. Daniela says:

    My general thoughts after watching this video is that I realized that this paticular style of teaching does have more of an impact on the students’ success. I personally retain a lot more information when it is explained to me in multiple methods. Overall, I think this style of teaching is effective due to the results it creates.

  3. Oscar says:

    I found that we did this last and this year and those worked out a little better than them

  4. erika says:

    I agree with Daniela and Edagr. It is beneficial for our future and it is helpful because we are being responsible for our own learning. It helps me learn better by allowing me to think through it before being exposed to the answer.

  5. Ashley says:

    I think this style of teaching really compliments your “drag you through it” approach. Because not only do you drag us through it but our peers do also.

  6. Annabel Madrid says:

    After watching the videos, I now understand a lot more of why we use this method in class. I’ve noticed that I retain a lot more information through interaction(s) with my peers than just straight lectures. This method also gives us a chance to actually ask our selves if we really know how to solve a problem or understand a concept .

  7. Andre Ernest says:

    This method works more to benefit the students because the teacher some what supports the students more on topics,then just dragging them through it;sometimes and with some people you have to pick them up and walk them through it or they may never stand to admire what they struggled through and achieved.

  8. Rodrigo Perez says:

    After looking at the results, my idea about this new meathod became more concrete on the basis that I know that I will leave the class understanding the topic.

  9. Freddie Beulah says:

    I believe that this method can be achieved, and transferred to our physics class by closely examining the teachers approach vs the students. Overall, I like the method and we should focus on applying it.

  10. Quinton Hal says:

    I am very fond of the idea that we are being taught the same way a Harvard student would be taught. Now i am more appreciative of this class, and i know i should take it more seriously because this class can help me prepare for any future classes i have in college.

  11. Aarón says:

    I think because of our limited time until the AP exam and our increase in difficulty of work, what we are doing in class now is, more or less, unanimously agreed what we believe to be the best way to learn as much as we can with what we are given.

  12. Fernando says:

    I feel like this system of way of teaching will innovate and ameliorate people’s understanding in class. Therefore, it is a direct improvement to those who are bewildered of the subject and make their life in the class a lot easier.

  13. Gabby says:

    I’m glad you use peer instruction because it helps students share knowledge with eachother and helps us answer a question and knowing exactly why we chose a certain answer. I LOVE peer instruction ❤ 😀 !

  14. Joslyn says:

    It looks just like our class! Since we began doing this my grade started to rise. This method of peer instruction obviously works, due to the fact that we get to consult our answers with our partners and see that sometime our questions are the same, but sometimes we’re to afraid to ask. This methods allows for that insecurity to devolve and allow nothing but learning.

  15. jose says:

    i like this style we should keep on doing it

Leave a Reply

